20 Noorong Avenue Bundoora (03) 4329 0456 bundoora@ykinders.org.au

The Australian Government, in partnership with all state and territory governments, has, over the past several years, made important changes to early childhood education and care in Australia. These changes have occurred through the introduction of a National Quality Framework which was agreed by the Council of Australian Governments (COAG). The framework was implemented progressively from 1 July 2010 with formal implementation from 1 January 2012.

The National Quality Framework has put in place a National Quality Standard (updated in October 2017) to ensure high quality and consistent early childhood education and care across Australia.

EXCEEDING THE NATIONAL QUALITY STANDARD                                

The National Quality Standard is divided into seven areas that contribute to the quality of early childhood education and care.  These areas have been identified by research and are:

  1. Educational program and practice
  2. Children’s health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements (including the number of staff looking after children)
  5. Relationships with children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Leadership and service management

Under each of these areas more detail is provided about what a service can do to provide the highest quality early childhood education and care for a child.

These changes are helping providers to improve their services in the areas that impact on a child’s development and empower families to make informed choices about which service is best for their child.